Happy Saturday!! :)

Standard

0071Happy Saturday!!  How are ya’ll today my dear friends?!  I wanted to share my Baked Oatmeal Recipe with you as it is wonderful &  melts in your mouth!! 🙂

My kids & hubby love it & it’s one way I can get them to eat oatmeal! 🙂  It’s wonderful w/alittle cream on it or milk!  Here it is!  Enjoy! 🙂

BAKED OATMEAL

  • 4-1/2 cups water
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 apples, peeled and chopped (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Additional milk, optional

Directions

  • In a saucepan, bring water to a boil; add oats. Return to a boil; cook 1 minute. Remove from the heat; cover and let stand for 5 minutes. Combine eggs, apples, brown sugar, milk, oil, raisins, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in oatmeal. Spoon into a greased 9-in. square baking pan. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 60-65 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. Cut into squares; pour milk over each serving if desired. Yield: 9 servings.

Nutritional Facts1 serving (1 piece) equals 319 calories, 16 g fat (2 g saturated fat), 49 mg cholesterol, 378 mg sodium, 40 g carbohydrate, 3 g fiber, 6 g protein.

Originally published as Overnight Baked Porridge in Cookin’ Up Country Breakfasts Cookbook , p80

About Kathy's Krochet Nook

Hi! Welcome to my ramblings! I am a Mom of 3, Grandma of 2 & a crochet addict! :) I also am a tea addict, love my coffee & I am an introvert! :) I have a son in the National Guards who is now a sargeant, a daughter who lives nearby thank goodness! & another son who is into health & fitness, loves to body build & loves Chicago! I am thankful to have also gained a wonderful son & daughter in law! We live in the Heart of Wisconsin Northwoods in the little town of Rome! I love all of the seasons we experience here in Wisconsin but Winter can be alittlle too long!Come along with me & follow my day to day journey of ramblings, recipes, crochet creations, grandbabies, & more! Thank you for joining me! I hope you enjoy! Kathy xx

2 responses »

  1. Oh my! That baked oatmeal sounds so yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I had never heard of baking oatmeal. I know I would love this. Ty wouldn’t, though, and it is only the two of us here to eat it. Can you refrigerate and reheat the leftovers?

    Like

Leave a Reply

