Hobbies!……They are important!

Standard

Happy Monday Sweet Friends! xx

This last wkend. was a whirlwind of Graduation parties & a Graduation ceremony, Family & Friends!  What a great time!  But my husband & I are glad that we are done with that phase in our life!  Our youngest, a son, now 19 yo., graduated last year.  They were wonderful, yet of course some challenging times while our 3 kids were attending public school.  And we my husband & I move on to a new phase of our life soon!……empty nesters & also first time Grandma & Grandpa!!  Trying to adjust to the ’empty nester’ thing but definitely excited about the first time Grandparents thing! 🙂

Well actually, this post was to be about hobbies & how important they really are!  I’ve been either working on counted cross stitch, rubber stamping cards & my real passion is crochet!  It seems that my hobbies, mainly my crochet has helped get me through a variety of different challenges through life!  Crochet has been my therapy in many ways & also a stress reliever for me at times!  So when I read this article belowthat I will share with you all, I could relate & I’m sure many of you can too!  It’s occurred to me that hobbies……yes, hobbies!…..are really an essential part of life!  They are good for many reasons & for every age!!  I hope you enjoy reading the short article below!

Oh & Happy Monday, of course! 🙂  Kathy xx

Crocheting in Difficult Times

In this issue I read about crocheters who faced incredible physical and emotional hardships, but crochet led them down the path of recovery. First there is Vicki Sulfara, who learned to crochet when she was a young girl. In June of 2000, she was in a horrific car accident that left her with spinal injuries, chronic pain, and the fear that she would not be able to pick up her hook again. Instead, crochet became an integral part of her healing progression.

Then there is the story of LTC Samantha Nerove, U.S. Army, Retired. I’ll let you read an excerpt in her own words.

 

Combat Crochet

 

Hope Blooms by Jenny King

Pistol? Check. Body armor? Check. Yarn, hooks, crochet books? Check. My Combat Crochet Basic Load (CCBL) was prepped for battle. . . . Night after night, I sat on my bunk holding on to life by participating in the wonder of yarns blossoming into flowers and other projects. Creating with fiber became my personal oasis in the desert of my disintegrating self.   

Crocheting helped stop the memories-the sight and screams of dying burn victims, AK-47s aimed at my face, and morefrom replaying in my head. It directed my mind to a calmer place. Yarn over, pull through . . . . My hands were moving. I was still alive. . . . ­The ugliness and destruction of war pale in comparison with the power and beauty that yarn, hooks, and crochet books can create.

 

Spacer 10x10 pixels
Wonder Wheel Top by Jenny King
 

— LTC Samantha Nerove, U.S. Army, Retired.

 

About Kathy's Krochet Nook

Hi! Welcome to my ramblings! I am a Mom of 3, Grandma of 2 & a crochet addict! :) I also am a tea addict, love my coffee & I am an introvert! :) I have a son in the National Guards who is now a sargeant, a daughter who lives nearby thank goodness! & another son who is into health & fitness, loves to body build & loves Chicago! I am thankful to have also gained a wonderful son & daughter in law! We live in the Heart of Wisconsin Northwoods in the little town of Rome! I love all of the seasons we experience here in Wisconsin but Winter can be alittlle too long!Come along with me & follow my day to day journey of ramblings, recipes, crochet creations, grandbabies, & more! Thank you for joining me! I hope you enjoy! Kathy xx

5 responses »

  1. I agree that having hobbies are important. I don’t crochet a lot but when I do I find it so relaxing. Enjoyed reading the excerpt about Samantha and Vicki. Do you know if they have a blog? Would love to read more of there story. Happy Monday to you, also.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

